Role of the Bible in Mormonism

hello people,

I am studying Mormonism.  My background is Catholic and then charismatic for a little while.

I read something somewhere about Mormons believing the bible was "revered" but was corrupted by monks.  

This idea about the bible was part of a list of things that I think had something to do with wisdom?  I cant find this list of like ten things now.  It was a Mormon list not a internet thing.

What I want to get at is what role does the bible play in the practical life of a Mormon.  

What are the corrupted parts of the bible that should be avoided according to Mormonism?  

Did Joseph Smith say the bible was corrupt?  

If so where does He say that in His writings?

Thanks a bunch

Mike

Good morning, Mickydo. 

Joseph Smith was on-record as saying "I believe the Bible as it read when it came from the pen of the original writers. Ignorant translators, careless transcribers, or designing and corrupt priests have committed many errors" (TPJS, p. 327).  I think in times past there has been an unfortunate tendency among lay Mormons to assume that the Catholic Church is responsible for the bulk of this "corruption"; though I think the church membership is slowly coming around to the notion that the Bible text as it existed by the third or fourth century A.D. is pretty near to what we have today.