I have a dilema...

jman

First off let me say hello. I'm new to the site and am impressed with the activity here. I remember many years back when Beliefnet.com was the active place to talk about our beliefs/problems/concerns. It is not as active and far to open to the 'anti-mormon'. It's nice to see a pretty fair balance of opinions here. I think I'm going to enjoy it here.

Now on to my dilema. I am an inactive member of the church. I am inactive not because its something i nessecarily choose but because I work weekends. I am a Park Ranger by trade and weekends are quite simply the busiest time of the week. My weekends are mid-week and my 'sundays' are typically Wednesday or Thursday. I open my park and am at work from 5:30am until 2pm. So this pretty much rules out going to church. Our church is not the most open to those who can't make it on Sundays.

I know I'm not the only member who faces this dilema and I'm wondering how others go about being active when they work Sundays. I listen to a lot of podcasts, I have the Mormon Channel app on my android phone and listen to that a couple of times a week at lunch and what not. I read the Ensign and the scriptures fairly regularly as well. I recently listened to a talk given to BYU by...you know now I forget who gave the talk but essentially the speaker was expressing his opinion that the spirit of the church is not in the church buidlings but rather in the family, and more precisely in our own hearts. I took that to heart and don't feel distant from Jesus or God but I do feel distant from the church I've chosen to belong to.

Thanks in advance for any advice, anecdotes, and what not that you all might be able to provide.

Welcome to the forum!

Serious question: Can you take 1 Sunday off per month (or start your shift later) so you can attend a Sacrament meeting - and partake? Or even go during a lunch hour?